The Parish of Hurley is one of the largest in East Berkshire, covering some 50 square miles. It is bounded by Wargrave and Remenham Parishes to the west with Bisham and White Waltham Parishes on its eastern and southern borders.
The northern boundary of the parish follows the course of River Thames and includes the picturesque Hurley lock and the charming village of Hurley where the first church was probably built c.700 AD. Moving along the Thames upstream and shortly after Frogmill, the boundary goes south to Cockpole Green with its original village green and then on around Warren Row, famous for its chalk pits which were used as an underground factory during World War II and later as an emergency Regional Seat of Government. There are extensive areas of ancient woodland at the adjacent Ashley Hill Forest though much has been replanted. In addition to the good network of footpaths and bridleways, much of the woodland at Warren Row has open access.
Just south of Knowl Hill, the boundary starts to move north and goes through Littlewick Green which has a beautiful village green and cricket pitch and is also the location of the house where Ivor Novello lived and composed many of his famous works. After reaching the A4 road, the boundary strikes north again, proceeding through Burchetts Green, location of Hall Place built in 1728 and now the Berkshire College of Agriculture, until it links up with our starting point at Hurley. It is a diverse parish with history and beauty in abundance, and it is no surprise that most of the villages of Hurley, Burchetts Green and Littlewick Green fall within Conservation Areas.
Links to more detailed pages on the history of the villages are provided from the menu. See map of the area here>>
Representing Hurley, Warren Row and parts of Burchetts Green, Cockpole Green, Littlewick Green and Knowl Hill